The Scuderie del Quirinale (Quirinal Stables, also called Papal Stables) was
built over ten years, from 1722 to 1732 . The Scuderie, together with the Palazzo
del Quirinale (Quirinal Palace – official residence of the President of the Italian
Republic) and the Palazzo della Consulta (Constitutional Court – originally a
villa built upon the ruins of the Baths of Constantine and adapted by Sixtus V
as a civil and criminal court), make up a stunning urban space. At the center
of the spacious piazza between these three buildings stands an obelisk – moved
from nearby the Mausoleum of Augustus in the eighteenth century – atop a fountain
and the famous statues of the Dioscuri (the two gigantic Roman marble “Horse Tamers”,
Castor and Pollux).
The Scuderie stands next to the Colonna gardens and on top of the archeological
remains of the great Roman Temple of Serapide – some of which are still visible.
For more information on Exhibitions, please click on the offical link for the